Processing.. Please wait.
Dr. D.Y. Patil College of Physiotherapy

World Spine Day

Wednesday, October 20, 2021 |Dr. D. Y. Patil College of Physiotherapy |Student Capability Enhancement and Skill development programme

The world spine day is celebrated every year to create awareness about spine and its related issues alongwith the burden of spinal pain, prevention and treatment methods. This year’s World Spine Day theme was “BACK TO BACK” which reflected the need to refocus on spinal pain, highlighting on the preventive and rehabilitative aspects in our home and in our communities.

Under the guidance of Dr. Tushar J. Palekar, Principal Dr. D.Y. Patil College of Physiotherapy, the Musculoskeletal Department of the institute organized a model making competition for I and II BPT students, focussing on basic anatomy and biomechanics of spine while Poster Presentation competition for III, IV BPT and MPT students, focussing on preventive, treatment and evidence based aspects of spine care, emphasizing on the above mentioned theme. A total of 20 students participated in the event and was coordinated by Ortho MPT students.

Models on Spinal Anatomy, biomechanics and ergonomics were prepared while Posters related to spinal conditions, preventive and physiotherapy treatment methods, research related to spine were also displayed and presented by students. The judge for the competition were Dr. Seema Saini, Professor and Dr. Sanjivani Kamble, Associate Professor. The winners of the competition were as follows:

Model Presentation:

1st: Binaifer Chettiar, Bhagyashri Zope, Sanjana Iyer from III semester BPT

2nd: Krutisha Kayasth, Gayatri S.More, Khushi Goyal from V Semester BPT

BPT- Poster Presentation:

1st: Kinjal Shah, Dharti Bhavsar, Kanaka Shirali from VII Semester BPT

2nd: A) Akanksha Asrani, Charchika Mohanty, Meher Bhavsar- VII Semester BPT

        B) Akanksha Mittal, Shivani Singh- VII Semester BPT                                                

MPT Poster Presentation:

1st: Merin Shaji, Siddhi Pokle- III Semester MPT

2nd: Prachi Bansal, Rupinder Bhatti, Mitsu Desai- I Semester MPT