Processing.. Please wait.
Dr. D.Y. Patil Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre

Guest lecture on “Current Management of Thyroid Eye Disease by Dr Santosh G Honavar on 8th December 2021

Wednesday, December 08, 2021 |Dr. D. Y. Patil Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre |Guest Lecture

A Guest lecture on “Current management of Thyroid Eye Disease” was organized by the Department of Ophthalmology on 8th December 2021, 3pm to 4pm by Guest speaker Dr Santosh G Honavar (MD (AIIMS), FACS, FRCOphth)

Dr Santosh G Honavar , is currently the Director Medical Services – Centre for Sight. He has extensively published in peer-reviewed journals (over 150 manuscripts) and has written several book chapters. He is on the Advisory Board of the International Council of Ophthalmology, is the Secretary of the Oculoplastic Association of India, and the Vice president of the Asia Pacific Society for Ocular Oncology and Pathology. He has completed his MBBS from the Bangalore Medical College (Best Graduate of the Bangalore University; 7 Gold Medals); Post-graduate training in Ophthalmology, followed by Senior Residency in Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery at the R P Center for Ophthalmic Sciences, AIIMS, New Delhi (Best Resident award); and Fellowship in Ocular Oncology at the Wills Eye Hospital, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, PA, USA. His previous experience includes senior resident at AIIMS (1992-1995), faculty and Head of the Department, of oculoplasty and later Associate Director at the LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad (1995-2013); Adjunct Professor at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Ohio State University Dept of Ophthalmology. He focuses on tumors of the ocular surface, eyelid, eye, and orbit, and specifically retinoblastoma, eye plastic surgery and eye prosthesis.

The organizing committee comprised of

Chairman: -Dr (Col.) Shashi Prabha Prasad (Professor & HOD),

Co-Chairman: - Dr (Col.) O.K. Radhakrishnan (Professor & HOU),

Moderator:-Dr Namrata Adulkar (Oculoplasty Consultant)

Co-Ordinators: Dr Megha Kotecha (Assistant Professor)

Dr Nilay Dhore (3rd year Junior Resident)

Dr G. Aditya Ganesh (2nd year Junior Resident)

Dr Madhav Pai (2nd year Junior Resident)

Total no. of Attendees: 86